This image shows the front of the Depot.
This image shows all five commissioners on the Fargo Park Board.
This image shows the front of the Depot.
This image shows all five commissioners on the Fargo Park Board.

The Fargo Park District is governed by a board of elected park commissioners. The five Commissioners are elected at large, meaning that every citizen has an opportunity to vote for each of them. Commissioners are elected for four-year terms with no term limits. 

The Fargo Park Board regularly meets on the second Tuesdays of each month except in August and September when the meeting is held on the first Tuesday. A schedule of meetings is listed on the Park Board Schedule page. Meetings begin at 5:30 pm and are held in the Depot Board Room on the first floor of the Park District Offices located at 701 Main Avenue, Fargo, North Dakota.  The agenda for regular meetings is available on the Park Board Meetings page by the Friday before the meeting. Agendas for the Fargo Park Board meetings are also posted in The Forum on the Monday prior to the meeting. 

Citizens wishing to address the Park Board may do so during the Recognition of Audience portion of each regular meeting agenda. Those wanting to address the Board must sign up in advance of the meeting on the sheet in the Board Room. Each citizen who signs up to address the Board is asked to state their name and address for the record. The Board is interested in hearing citizen comments and will listen carefully but may not respond or debate issues in this forum. To allow the most opportunity for engagement with as many residents as possible, each speaker is asked to keep their remarks to the board to 3 minutes or less. All comments are made to the Board and not to individuals in the audience. The Board will not hear personal complaints against any person connected with the park district. Comments must address topics that are on the agenda. If a citizen would like to address a topic to the park board agenda, arrangements must be made with Fargo Park District staff by noon the Monday prior to the scheduled meeting. Groups of individuals addressing a common concern are asked to designate a spokesperson.  

Following the regular Fargo Park Board meetings, video of the meeting is posted by the following week on the Park Board Meetings page. Re-broadcast of Fargo Park Board Meetings is available on Thursdays at 9:00 pm and Fridays at 4:00 pm on Channel 56. This channel is only broadcast in the City of Fargo and is viewable by Sparklight and Midco customers. Meeting minutes are posted approximately 2 days after board approval at the following month’s regular meeting. 

All Park Board Members serve regular and ad hoc committee assignments, with representatives from the staff. The Park Board committees include: Administration, Enterprise, Facilities and Recreation. Board committees are used to support the work of the Fargo Park District, discuss current issues facing the district and establish district policies. The committee meeting schedule is posted on the Park Board Meetings page. Meeting dates and start times vary by committee. Agendas for committee meetings are available as they become available on the Park Board Meetings page. Committee meetings are not typically recorded. Minutes are available upon request. 

Day to day operations are managed by the Executive Director of Parks and Recreation. 

If you have questions regarding upcoming Board meetings or would like to see a topic added to an upcoming meeting, please contact Tara at 701-499-6060. 

Upcoming Meetings

Dec 14

December 2021 Park Board Meeting
5:30 pm // Depot/Virtual, 701 Main Avenue, Fargo

Dec 29

December 2021 Facilities Committee Meeting
8:00 am // Depot, 701 Main Avenue, Fargo


Stacey Griggs

Board Member Photo
Stacey Griggs park board head shot

Stacey was elected to the Board in 2018. She has lived in Fargo for over 30 years and currently resides in south Fargo with her husband Wes. They raised their boys (Ben & Peter) in south Fargo and their family has been avid park users for decades. Stacey works part-time for The Apartment Movers, Inc., and has been involved in many local organizations. She looks forward to working to make Fargo an excellent place for families to live and grow.

Email Stacey

Vicki Dawson, Board President

Board Member Photo
Vicki Dawson Park Board head shot

Vicki was elected to the Board in 2018. Vicki and her husband Steve live with their two teenage sons. Vicki also has three adult stepsons, two daughters-in-law, and two young grandsons. Vicki is a Senior Risk Consultant for Federated Insurance. As a Certified Safety Professional, Vicki works with businesses to improve their safety practices. Volunteering on youth centered boards and for youth organizations has been a focus for Vicki. Fargo Parks is an important part of her family's life. They enjoy everything from the baseball fields to the tennis courts to the hockey rinks to the pools and the parks.

Email Vicki

Jerry Rostad

Board Member Photo
Jerry Rostad Park Board head shot

Jerry was elected to the Board in 2016. As an Assistant CIO for the North Dakota University System, he develops and implements communication strategy while serving as a liaison with the 11 institutions of the NDUS. He retired as a Captain in the Navy Reserve after 28 years of service. He serves on the Board of Directors of FM Athletics and the Roger Maris Celebrity Golf Tournament. He also volunteers with the Growing Together community garden project. Jerry and his wife Tami raised two sons and his family has been active users of Park District amenities.

Email Jerry

Dawn Morgan, Board Vice President

Board Member Photo
Dan Morgan Park Board head shot

Dawn Morgan was elected to the Fargo Park Board in 2020. She grew up on Fargo’s Northside and attended graduate school at MSUM where she focused on special education. Dawn is Executive Director of the non-profit, Spirit Room, working directly with the arts and cultural communities to provide a venue to enrich people’s lives. Dawn serves on many community boards and committees including: City of Fargo Planning Commission, the City of Fargo Master Plan Steering Committee for Neighborhood Planning, the City of Fargo Street Tree Master Plan Committee, the Jefferson Area

Neighborhood Association, the Hjemkomst Scandinavian Festival and the Fargo Moorhead Heritage Society, an historic preservation organization. Dawn’s goal in everything she does is to connect people to environments which promote education, health and a safe atmosphere for everyone to enjoy.

Email Dawn

Joe Deutsch

Board Member Photo
Joe Deutsch Park Board head shot

Joe was elected to the Board in 2006. As a Professor at North Dakota State University, Dr. Deutsch prepares Physical Education teachers and coaches to teach and coach at the public school and collegiate levels. Joe is married to his wife Brandi and has three sons. He enjoys coaching youth wrestling and football in his spare time.

Email Joe

How to Become a Board Member.

Are you interested in running for a seat on the Fargo Park Board? Please contact the City of Fargo Auditor’s office at 701-241-1300 for more information or visit the City of Fargo's page, 'Running for City Office.'