Fargo park district logo

Parks are ingrained with personal meaning. The playgrounds that live in the memories of generations of people are the soul of our communities. Today, the Fargo Park District is an over 2,100-acre system consisting of local and regional parks, playgrounds, golf courses, biking and walking paths, nature parks, campground, river parks and complexes. Take a step back in time to discover how our park system got its start.

Fargo Parks History and Milestones

  • In 1910, the Fargo Park District started with only one park. Fargo's population was 14,000.
  • Island Park was the first park in Fargo.
  • Lindenwood Campground was established in 1921.
  • Dill Hill got its name from Dill Hall, the building that sat atop the hill built in 1908.
  • In 1938, a plaque was placed outside what is now home to the Fargo Park District offices to commemorate the place whereon September 4, 1883, Generals Grant and Sheridan stopped in Fargo with a party enroute west to drive the Golden Spike which completed the Northern Pacific Railroad. 
  • First Board Members were elected October 11, 1910.
  • First Board Meeting was held on November 1, 1910.
  • Gladys Johansen became the first woman elected to the Park Board in April of 1966.
  • Edgewood Golf Course Opened in 1926: It cost $0.25 for three times around the five hole course.
  • Construction began in 1964 on a 9 hole golf course at El Zagal. August 1965, El Zagal Public Golf Course was opened
  • In May 1976, construction broke ground for the Prairiewood Golf Course.
  • On June 15, 2016, the Fargo Park District reopened a completely renovated El Zagal Public Golf Course after construction on a city levee project caused the course to be closed for a year. The renovated course became the exclusive course in the region to offer FootGolf. FootGolf is a dynamic combination of soccer and golf which gives people a new and fun alternative to swinging clubs.
  • In the 1950's the lifeguard staff at Island Park put on an annual water show. They had clown acts, synchronized swimming, diving and dancing.
  • On a Tuesday in July 1956, there was an attendance record set of 4,022 swimmers at Island Park Pool breaking the record set the Monday before of 3,757.
  • In 1958, admission at the Island Park Pool was 10 cents for children under 12 or $4.00 for a season ticket. 12 to 18 year olds were 15 cents or $5.00 for a season ticket. Adults were $0.25 or $7.00 for a season ticket.
  • November of 1958 the Harry Howland pool was completed.
  • Island Park Pool was once located at the current Scherling Complex Tennis Courts.
  • A 140 foot high ski jump was built in 1935 west of a farm, now Trollwood Park.
  • In 1978, the Lindenwood bike bridge was installed.
  • A new walking bridge was installed over the Red River in 2013 at Lindenwood Park.
  • In 1951, there were 12 parks and nearly fifty years later in 2010 the Park District had 94 parks.
  • In 1957, at Lewis and Clark, Washington School, Goldenridge site and Chaney Field the Park District installed ice skating rinks, hockey rinks and playgrounds.
  • Mickelson Field groundbreaking ceremony was held in May 1965.
  • The Fargo Park District offices are located in the old Northern Pacific Passenger Depot which was built in 1898.
  • Fargo's smallest park today is Ole Tangen Park with only .076 acres and the largest developed park is Lindenwood with 89.61 acres.